‘The 100’ #37 – Vancouver Street Art – Cheque #354…

I carry my camera as I cycle around Vancouver. Many of the shots I take of graffiti and street art have textual content and I will be featuring these in this next series of posts of ‘The 100’.

The cityscape of Vancouver is rapidly changing – old buildings vanish, seemingly overnight and photographs I have taken quite recently of contemporary street art and graffiti on walls and other urban surfaces have today disappeared and become historic. This is the transient nature of street art and is accepted as such by the artists who bring it into being. To these anonymous artists I say thank you for your efforts and expressions of your life and I dedicate the following series to you all.

The above image is a detail from a wall art piece taken from an East Vancouver building no longer in existence. What attracted me to this artwork was the poetic and ambiguous nature of the content and the untold story behind the efforts of the artist to speak to us with these fragments of his / her life on a city wall. The process of time, weather and human intervention makes this piece a work of urban art worth remembering.

‘The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog my intention is to present 100 pieces of textual art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu.


9 thoughts on “‘The 100’ #37 – Vancouver Street Art – Cheque #354…

    1. It is indeed Philippa – can you imagine heading out to the street with a blown up version of your bank statement and a bucket of paste (you can’t tell from the photo that the cheque is about 15″ high)…

  1. A wonderful piece. It reaches out and brushes my skin with a little grate to it.

    As an aside, I’m sorry they spell check with a brand spelling in Vancouver. (the French pervades everywhere.)

    1. Thank you for your comment Carl, I like the poetic wording a lot. Not sure what a “brand spelling” is? We mostly use English spelling up here (Cheque, colour etc)…

Leave a Reply

