‘The 100’ #39 – Vancouver Street Art – ‘Condem’…

Another old Vancouver house condemned and gone and a telling statement left on the soon to vanish plywood / door. Maybe it was placed there by the last resident or a passing street artist. A skull and the word ‘condem’, misspelled, but a powerful word and image none-the-less. It incorporates the state of the house when written (condemned) and also the feelings of the artist – ‘I ‘condem’  what is happening to this home’. And what is to follow? Another house, a highrise of condos? A speculator’s financial dream? The cycle of progress continues and the loss of someone’s home and the history of that home is negated by the pressure of time and the unfeeling marketplace.

Poem by Robert O. Adair.

How lonely
sits this house.
Abandoned,
uncared for,
once so filled
with life and laughter.
Windows broken out
like a blinded
old man,
a refugee
from happier times.

Thank you Robert for your poem and thanks to the unknown artist.

 ‘The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog my intention is to present 100 pieces of textual art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu.


10 thoughts on “‘The 100’ #39 – Vancouver Street Art – ‘Condem’…

  1. I walk around the neighborhood I once knew like the back of my hand, and it is a mystery to me. Beautiful, little, California “ranch style” homes are ripped from the earth, 8o year old rose bushes thrown in the trash…all to make way for an Italian villa with no garden. I water my roses weeping inwardly at the day when someone will do the same to our old house.

  2. The sadness for me is how nature advances to take her space back before man advances so I wonder if man is retreating, wonder how much nature detests man’s structures, and I am sad for the former occupants because I can’t convince myself that they are better off. It’s a potent picture.

Leave a Reply

