Wonderful Team Member Readership Award – Part 1:

I am very honoured to be nominated by ‘Footprints in the Sand’ – for this award. – http://esengasvoice.wordpress.com

I must admit to some puzzlement at the award title and am curious about the initial intention because I am asked to  pass it forward. Well, the criteria does allow for creative interpretation as long as the spirit is kept alive, so I will try to do both and sincerely hope that I arrive somewhere close to the award author’s original idea.

My interpretation then is this: there are blogs that contain brilliant writing along with art and / or photography and / or music. Excellent writing, for me, is closely connected to a love of reading and many of these blogs also share discovered books and poetry as well as impressive quotes. So this will be my personal criterion for choosing my 14 nominees.

The ‘guidelines’ for this award are:

1. The Nominee of the Wonderful Team member Readership Award shall display the logo on his/her post/page and/or sidebar 

2. The Nominee shall nominate 14 readers they appreciate over a period of 7 days (1 week) – this can be done at any rate during the week. It can be ALL on one day or a few on one day and a few on another day, etc.

3. The Nominee shall name his or her Wonderful Team Member Readership Award nominees on a post or on posts during the 7-day (1 week) period.

4. The Nominee shall make these rules, or amended rules, known to each reader s/he nominates.

5. The Nominee must finish this sentence and post: ”A Great reader is…”

PLEASE NOTE RULES CAN BE ADDED TO/AMENDED if deemed appropriate; let’s be creative, and let’s grow & improve, but let’s also keep to the spirit of the award.

A Great Reader is:      one who prefers the company of books to TV –      “So please, oh PLEASE, we beg, we pray, Go throw your TV set away, And in its place you can install, a lovely bookshelf on the wall.” –  Roald Dahl, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

I have previously nominated some of my nominees for other awards but they have been too modest to continue the process. I want to assure them here that my nominations are chiefly to recognize the excellence of their blogs and to let others know that they exist. You are completely free, my friends, to accept, reject or improvise…

My order of nominations is random and no priority is suggested in terms of numbering. Today I will post five, tomorrow five, and the following day, four.

1. http://cherylmoore.wordpress.com

Cheryl’s fantasy stories are composed with a quality of narrative writing only equaled by her superbly drawn illustrations. Visit Cheryl for a trip into a world of the imagination that will keep you coming back for more.

2. http://walterkittysdiary.com

Within Ms. Walter’s ‘diary’ you will discover perceptive, sensitive and humorous writing and poetry – all shared with beautifully written and warm human feelings – a visit will always make your day better.

3. http://burgessart.wordpress.com

Robert is a Visual Artist /Teacher who lived in New York for 15 years and showed his artworks at a prominent SoHo gallery in the 90′s. Currently he is back in Australia. His writings about art are exceptional, as is his art, and both are worthy of your time.

4. http://ephemeralgecko.wordpress.com

Eph’s writings about the process and exploration of creating art are detailed, clear and light-hearted. This is an inspiring, informative and colourful blog full of ideas and gorgeous photographs. If art is not your thing, Eph will change your mind…

5. http://stillfugue.com

Carl says in his ‘About’: I love writing that comes straight to me as art. It’s not mechanical, technical, popish and not all about the plot and stories. It’s about transforming who I am during the present moment and in some way who I am for the rest of my time. His brilliant and creative writings and images reveal intense struggles to understand and transform his life. I find Carl’s words inspirational and cathartic.

Tomorrow I will introduce five more of my favorite blogs…

Image Credits – all from Google Images. Woman Reading by Edouard Manet.

18 thoughts on “Wonderful Team Member Readership Award – Part 1:

  1. Gosh I don’t know if I have 14 regular readers on WP! I thank you though, and will give it some thought. You’ve given me so much encouragement to keep chopping my way through the jungle of expression.

    1. You are way too modest – I’m sure you have a vast audience. Remember also that 14 is not cast in stone – be creative and improvise. Your chopping has cleared a path that is wide, clear and a delight to tread…

  2. Congratulations, and I know from experience that you are a kind and open-minded reader. Your nomination of my page fills me with tremendous gratitude. You are a good man and you’re making my life better. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

