The 100 #53 – Hopes, Fears, Dreams…

Another text-based public art project by BC Transit. Vancouver, Canada. I found these large poster style images outside and inside of the Broadway / City Hall Sky Train station.

Each image involves a figure seemingly entering a door. The figures are photographed from the rear to presumably ensure anonymity. The figures are overlaid with white text that reflects the hopes, fears, dreams etc of the person depicted. The format of the text is similar for each image and leads me to assume that all participants were asked the same questions. Based on the answers given I am led to believe that all participants are young people.

The following are all of the images shown presented in Gallery format. Click on thumbnails for larger image.

I like the content of the text, especially the dreams and fears and find the innocence of the responses extremely touching ; however, I am puzzled by the intent behind these confessional posters. Someone decided that this is an interesting idea for a public art project – I wish I had been a fly on the wall at those meetings. As a retired teacher of young people I am familiar and always fascinated by their hopes and dreams; however, I wonder how many of the general public share my interest.  What do you think, dear readers, of this project – its mode of presentation and its intent?

The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog my intention is to present 100 pieces of textual art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu

14 thoughts on “The 100 #53 – Hopes, Fears, Dreams…

  1. One quote from each person would have been plenty. Sadly I lost the figures as soon as I started to read. Intent? Ideas about vulnerability, shared dreams, differences? The door metaphor in relation to life’s transitions perhaps? Love that golden timber door.

    1. I guess a single quote wouldn’t have been enough to create the desired white curtain of text. Did you also lose the text when looking at the figures? Come on Philippa, where’s your 21st century multitasking skills? 😉 Thank you for your insightful comment…

      1. Yes, I have to say I did lose the text most of the time! I believe that multi-tasking is a myth. A myth to which everyone under 35 seems to subscribe….only about half of the world’s population! I’m sticking to my notion. But a nice idea about the white curtain of text.

      2. I agree about multi tasking – unless there’s been an evolutionary leap that I’m not aware of I think, like you, that it’s an illusion. In actuality it’s more demi tasking…

  2. I read each one. That indicates interest for sure. Some were flat (plat) 2-3 struck me. I think the intention was met, perhaps answering where is our youth headed (university, higher education) but would have liked more imagination. Everyone here was talking about university

    1. Thank you Les for your interest in the post. I agree with you about a lack of imagination but who knows how much editing was done to convey the desired intent. Some did mention entering the trades as opposed to university. Having been a high school teacher I know how much students are driven to enter higher education and maybe this is not such a bad thing – they have so many years ahead to find their own way. Who knows, some may even be crazy enough to enter the arts!

  3. When you are young, the door is a metaphor for the future and reading the messages, I hope they will do alright. Nothing is sure I suppose. I just hope all will be well for our children. Good posting again!

  4. Hmmm… I wonder where the door leads. open doors, open minds, open opportunities all send flight to my thoughts. Maybe the purpose is not to sell anything that confounds the viewer, we are so bombarded with those images. Maybe it is to give lift to our imaginations…. simple but it achieves just that as I read the other remarks.
    Fuel for the brain, I love it!
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

