The 100 #57 – “I am lost…”

I am Lost...This is another text based, mixed media art work created by a high school student of mine from the past.

Relationships are so very important to adolescents, especially those that involve infatuation and the first blooming of romantic love. These tearings of the heart continue, of course, far beyond the teen years but with experience we grow armor or develop wisdom or cynicism or learn to discriminate in our emotional dance with each other. In the beginning, however; we are open and vulnerable in our innocence, the hurt fills our world and we need a way to express this hurt. Using Scrabble tiles and miscellaneous media this student courageously opened herself to her art studio peers with a direct, simple and honest expression of rejection and loneliness.

To the artist – If this post ever appears in your world I thank you for your art and truly hope you are happy, healthy and still expressing yourself through making art.

The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog my intention is to present 100 pieces of textual art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu

21 thoughts on “The 100 #57 – “I am lost…”

      1. I began teaching full time in 1988 and I retired in 2010. It all seems somewhat dreamlike now and I’ve entered another chapter in my life which, at some future time, will also seem dreamlike, no doubt…

      2. You know, I’m glad yo mentioned that. I was in retail management for 15 years and I’ve been out of that now for 5 years. And that time seems very dreamlike to me. Like you said this current phase in my life will undoubtedly also seem dreamlike. Cheers. have a great weekend my friend.

    1. Thank you Kathleen – these are a limited ‘archive’ because I am only dealing here with text based works. I actually have hundreds of photos of student work that I kept when I realized that the students wouldn’t…

  1. i love that you are showing these. I’m one of my art teachers pulled out my work it would thrill me to no end, had an issue with destroying my work when I was a kid. yeah I don’t do that anymore… much.

    1. Thanks Cookie. These are all from many years ago otherwise I would not have used them – anonymity being important here. Very few of the students were attached to their artwork enough to keep it – they gave them to friends or simply abandoned them. I photographed hundreds – those shown are some of the few text based works I kept…

Leave a Reply

