The 100 #58 – Pop on Fire…

Pop on FireThis is the third and final piece of text based, mixed media art work from my past students. It differs from the previous two in that it intellectually references art historical movements (Pop and Surrealism) rather than personal emotional issues (although these may be subtly present). Whether the image addresses or connects to any of the background text remains debatable. It also differs in its artistic and conceptual skill being from an older and more accomplished art student.

Should you ever come across this —, I hope you have continued your creative adventures and I thank you for your art. Get in touch if you feel so inclined.

The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog my intention is to present 100 pieces of textual art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu

6 thoughts on “The 100 #58 – Pop on Fire…

  1. THis is a pretty amazing piece. On a side note – I used to work in a Coca-Cola bottling plant for a short time. I remember when a whole a very large stack of 2 liter bottles (about 500 bottles) tipped over and crashed. The coke was so strong it literally peeled the paint off the factory floor. When I saw what it did to the floor I resolved to stop drinking pop. So this pop can with fire coming from it has that added meaning for me. The thing people consume will consume them. Consumed by consumerism.

Leave a Reply

