The 100 #65 – Intersections 4.

Intersections 1

Please see Intersections 2 for an explanation of this series.

Intersections 4 is a Vancouver street intersection very close to my ‘hood. Once an uninspiring mash-up it is now developing a funky and eclectic character and the park is a well used green space at the heart of the intersection. The description is below the image.

Kingsway and Fraser

Kingsway and Fraser

Credit and Thanks to the Platform Galleryhttp://www.theplatformgallery.ca/

‘The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog I will post 100 pieces of textual art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu.

16 thoughts on “The 100 #65 – Intersections 4.

  1. These are interesting as type and design for sure. Are they the initial volley in urban revitalization? Or have these intersections actually been redone or improved? I’m guessing the designers went to an area and designed based on their perceptions of the environment? I admit to being ‘grabbed’ by the design element (didn’t know initially it was your blog) but also curious about cities and wondering how the noted intersections contrasted with some good and bad intersections here in Toronto.

    1. Thanks Steven – Vancouver is developing rapidly and urban revitalization is ongoing. These particular intersections are landmarks for Vancouverites, historically, socially and commercially and are in constant flux as the city changes. Maybe you could initiate a similar project in Toronto…?

  2. John all your post are interesting….and although this one is site specific it relates to where we all live. It reminds me of the “hoods” of NYC and how much I loved them. Where I am now there is little sense of neighborhood….it is a more rural/country area and needs a lot more time to become a more complex and developed “hood.” (I love time travel too) Really in the end ….every place is interesting to those who are interested.
    Zach did a good job on the graphics.

  3. Thanks for the suggestion John….However, I think a project like this would be best undertaken by an enthusiast for design i.e. visual communicator/graphic illustrator…not exactly ‘right’ up my alley or skill set. But I appreciate your thought!

Leave a Reply

