Mexico Redux 4 – Paintings from El Patio – 1.

SMA Patio

As I’ve mentioned before, when in San Miguel De Allende I painted on this inspiring patio attached to a local art school. I’ve just heard (Feb. 2013) that the school has been sold due to the owners illness. I call on all muses to ensure it continues unchanged as an art school and not as a restaurant or worse. My days here were blissful and in the next few posts I will re-show some of the paintings I made on El Patio in early 2012.

The above is Pie Rat. 11″ x 15″. Acrylic and oil on paper. Influenced by memories of wanting to be a pirate when young, pirate stories of my Celtic ancestors and tales of daring-do off of the coast of Mexico, (also, of course, related to my blog – Art Rat – Pie Rat – close kin). Recently this image has come to symbolize other, less fantastical aspects of my life – but that’s another story….

22 thoughts on “Mexico Redux 4 – Paintings from El Patio – 1.

  1. John….not sure if I get it. The Pi(r)e ate the Rat at the Art Rat Cafe because you were close to the klin which cooked the Pie. And you always wanted to be Pi (e) so you could have a movie made about you. Then a Paint Rat painted your portrait to look like a Picasso Rat which looks more like you everyday now. Have I got it right?
    Great portrait!!!

  2. It looks like a wonderful place. I also hope it continues as it was. it would be a shame not to…
    Beautiful painting, John. On your note on it symbolizing aspects of your life, less fantastical, I wonder if we could paint our lives and our future.
    Would be nice, wouldn’t it?!!! 🙂

  3. “The time has come,” the walrus said, “to talk of many things: Of shoes and ships – and sealing wax – of cabbages and kings…”/L.Carroll/
    The patio does look like an inspiring island for “treasure” to be found…within, and your painting is a proof of that.

    1. “…and why the sea is boiling hot and whether pigs have wings…” Thank you Ese, I did find much treasure there.
      (it’s actually a very good thing pigs don’t have wings – pigeons are bad enough…)

Leave a Reply

