Mexico Redux 5 – Paintings from El Patio – 2.

The Other

The above painting is The Other. 11″ x 15″. Acrylic and oil on paper. Created on El Patio February 2012. While working I often had the feeling of another presence at my side or looking over my shoulder. Not the art school instructor or a tequila sprite but an ineffable companion in the act of art. I struggled to make this feeling tangible in this painting.

Who is the third who walks always beside you?

When I count, there are only you and I together

but when I look ahead up the white road

there is always another one walking beside you

gliding wrapt in a brown mantel, hooded

I do not know whether a man or a woman

but who is that on the other side of you?

T.S. Eliot – from The Waste Land – V.

20 thoughts on “Mexico Redux 5 – Paintings from El Patio – 2.

  1. John so good to see these amazing painting done at a very special time of your life. Do you think the spiritual presence was the beginning of your link with your Muse?
    And, as always such a beautiful and appropriate poem.

  2. I love this one. A great artist like yourself incorporates that unifying power which some may call God, and I feel that when I look at this piece. I get that feeling when I listen to Mozart and sometimes with Mahler, Shostakovich or Bach, but it is a rare artist indeed who can incorporate it. Bravo!

    P.S. I like T.S. Eliot, but this poetry is a mere shadow next to the painting.

  3. Beautifully mysterious and mysteriously beautiful, John. There’ s everything in your painting-silence of ocean, noise of earth, music of light and that indefinable presence of…

Leave a Reply

