‘The 100’ #71 – The Waiting Room Drawings.1.

waiting room 1

The Waiting Room Drawings #1 – mixed media – by clinock.   April 5. 2013.

I Am Waiting by Lawrence Ferlinghetti:

“I am waiting for my case to come up 
and I am waiting
for a rebirth of wonder
 
and I am waiting
 
for someone to really discover America
 
and wail
and I am waiting
 
for the discovery
of a new symbolic western frontier
 
and I am waiting
for the American Eagle
 
to really spread its wings
 
and straighten up and fly right
 
and I am waiting
for the Age of Anxiety
 
to drop dead
 
and I am waiting
 
for the war to be fought
which will make the world safe
 
for anarchy
and I am waiting
 
for the final withering away
 
of all governments
 
and I am perpetually awaiting
 
a rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for the Second Coming 
and I am waiting
for a religious revival
to sweep through the state of Arizona
 
and I am waiting
for the Grapes of Wrath to be stored
 
and I am waiting
for them to prove
 
that God is really American
 
and I am waiting
to see God on television
 
piped’ onto church altars
 
if only they can find
 
the right channel
 
to tune in on
 
and I am waiting
for the Last Supper to be served again
 
with a strange new appetizer
 
and I am perpetually awaiting
 
a rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for my number to be called 
and I am waiting
for the Salvation Army to take over
 
and I am waiting
for the meek to be blessed
and inherit the earth
 
without taxes and I am waiting
 
for forests and animals
 
to reclaim the earth as theirs
 
and I am waiting
 
for a way to be devised
 
to destroy all nationalisms
 
without killing anybody
and I am waiting
for linnets and planets to fall like rain
 
and I am waiting for lovers and weepers
 
to lie down together again
in a new rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for the Great Divide to ‘be crossed 
and I am anxiously waiting
for the secret of eternal life to be discovered
 
by an obscure general practitioner
 
and I am waiting
for the storms of life
 
to be over
 
and I am waiting
 
to set sail for happiness
 
and I am waiting
 
for a reconstructed Mayflower
 
to reach America
 
with its picture story and tv rights
 
sold in advance to the natives
 
and I am waiting
 
for the lost music to sound again
 
in the Lost Continent
 
in a new rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for the day 
that maketh all things clear
 
and I am awaiting retribution
 
for what America did
to Tom Sawyer
 
and I am waiting
 
for the American Boy
 
to take off Beauty’s clothes
 
and get on top of her
 
and I am waiting
 
for Alice in Wonderland
 
to retransmit to me
 
her total dream of innocence
 
and I am waiting
 
for Childe Roland to come
 
to the final darkest tower
 
and I am waiting
 
for Aphrodite
to grow live arms
 
at a final disarmament conference
 
in a new rebirth of wonder

I am waiting 
to get some intimations
 
of immortality
 
by recollecting my early childhood
 
and I am waiting
 
for the green mornings to come again
 
youth’s dumb green fields come back again
 
and I am waiting
 
for some strains of unpremeditated art
 
to shake my typewriter
 
and I am waiting to write
the great indelible poem
and I am waiting
for the last long careless rapture
 
and I am perpetually waiting
 
for the fleeing lovers on the Grecian Urn
 
to catch each other up at last
 
and embrace
and I am waiting
 
perpetually and forever
 
a renaissance of wonder.”

‘The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog I will post 100 pieces of textual art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu.
25 thoughts on “‘The 100’ #71 – The Waiting Room Drawings.1.

  1. OMG!!!! I hit the “like” button so fast my mouse broke and my computer froze.

    This is an incredible artwork. Paired with the genius of Lawrence Ferlinghetti this is one of my favorite posts. Great job here.

    This is probably one of my favorite pieces of art by you. The intensity of color and form is really amazing. There are also so many textures within the image. And the text is an amazing paradox by having the word “better” broken or divided which in itself I could talk about at some length (but will control myself).

    Masterful. Simply masterful IMHO.

    1. Coming from you my friend – muse and inspiration that you are to me – your words are very special and give me energy to keep exploring. Honoured I am Terry, thank you…

    1. Happy you enjoyed it Marina – BTW – was so impressed with your music on Terry’s site – must find time to listen to more through your blog – happy days…

  2. I love this piece, and the poem is fantastic accompaniment. The power of the colors engages me, and I feel as though I can’t disengage because I can’t get to where I want to be, somewhere deep beyond the lines of the painting.

    1. So great to hear from you Sharyn and thank you. I’m woefully behind in reading and commenting in the blogosphere – need to get over to see what you are up to these days..

  3. Beautiful and so alive! The vibrant mix of textures and colours create the multi-dimensional feeling so that every time I look at it, I see it a bit differently. More. Always better. And perfectly paired up with the poem.

  4. “I am waiting for the Second Coming ”

    I have always questioned the doctrine despite scripture. If Jesus is in our midst if we accept the invitation , He is with us in the here and now and there is nothing to wait for.

    1. Thanks for your comment Carl – I think that possibly Ferlinghetti writes with a delicate touch of irony. That being so I believe he would agree with your observations…

Leave a Reply

