Awards Dilemma

Rodin-The-Thinker Pickle

sunshine-award_zpsfd193040

More than a little while ago I received a Sunshine Award nomination from Deena at – http://keatsandkitsch.wordpress.com (a very refreshing blog is Deena’s – check it out). I told her that I was in an existential dilemma about awards and that I would make a decision soon whether to accept or reject. I have been longer than ‘soon’ and I apologize to Deena for this. I also graciously thank her for honouring me with this award.

My final decision is to accept this award, however, it will be my final acceptance.

I have honestly enjoyed receiving awards in the past – enjoyed the chance it gave me to promote those blogs that inspired me and I must admit I also enjoyed the ego boost.

My present thinking about having an ‘Award Free Blog’ is effected by: lack of time to do full justice to each award, the exclusivity of the process and the growing number of Award Free Blogs amongst those I would nominate. I also often feel restricted by the award rules.

So I am gratefully accepting the Sunshine Award from Deena, even though I will be breaking some of the rules. After this I will be posting an ‘Award Free Blog’ notice.

A genuine thanks again to Deena and to everyone who previously nominated me for awards – I was honoured every time.

This award states: The Sunshine Award is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers. The recipients of the Sunshine Award are: “Bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogsphere”. The way the award works is this: Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them. Answer questions about yourself. Select 10 of your favourite bloggers, link their blogs to your post and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!

 Questions about myself:

What inspired you to start blogging?

It was a final project in an art school course called ‘Business in Art.’ We had to create a web presence. I did so with every intention of deleting after the course was over – but I got hooked.

 How did you come up with the name to your blog?

Art Rat Café was the name of a popular after hours art class I began in the school where I used to teach. After I was ‘retired’ the headmaster also ‘retired’ the name of this class, insisting that parents would think that the art room had rats! Good grief!  I wanted to keep the name alive – so …

 What is your favourite blog that you like to read?

This is truly impossible to answer. Every blog I read has something that reflects the creativity of the blogger concerned. However, my blog roll contains the names of those blogs that have particularly inspired me.

 Tell about your dream job.

Apart from the administrative crap my long experience as a high school art teacher was a dream job come true. Apart from that, six summers, as a fire-lookout man in northern British Columbia, Canada has to be near to perfect.

 Is your glass half full or half empty?

Depends what I am drinking.

 If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

Burgas, Bulgaria where love permeates the air – but a week is never enough!

 What food can you absolutely not eat?

Dead animals.

 Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

This question is far too intimate to answer…

 How much time do you spend blogging?

Not enough yet way too much. I enjoy it but it takes away from my art making – this is always a dilemma.

 Do you watch TV – if so, what are some of your favourite shows?

Haven’t had TV for many, many years – don’t miss it – never will…

 Select 10 of your favourite bloggers, link their blogs to your post and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!

This is where I break the rules. I simply cannot choose only ten bloggers so I choose all of those bloggers who have inspired me – you know who you are – and I expect nothing from you dear friends. If you wish to claim this award nomination please go for it.

Thank you again Deena and thank you to you all for sharing your lives, dreams, art and writings on your sites – you have made this world a richer place.

24 thoughts on “Awards Dilemma

  1. Hi John, congratulations for the award. I feel the same thing about awards, I do love to get them lol, but it is very difficult to find time and people to pass them on to, so I might do as you did.
    Fire look-out man! It sounds a bit like the old man and the sea, but than with trees 🙂

    1. Interesting analogy between Hemingway’s story and fire-watching – still trying to unravel that line of thought as it drags me out to sea…thanks for the congrats Ina…

  2. I have an Award Free blog. But only cause nobody’s nominated me for jack shit. Now if the had a Jack Shit award, maybe I’d get one 🙂

    1. Can’t believe you’ve never been nominated Hansi – horse feathers! I think you need to design a Jack Shit Award as another drawing project and present it to yourself – or better still a whole series of Awesomely Awful Awards with appropriate witty ‘rules’ – you would do this brilliantly as only you can. You could start with The Hot Dog Phallus Trophy…

  3. Excellant idea! I found myself just saying thank you for the nomination and never getting around to fullfilling the requirements. Now all we need is a free to copy “Award Free Blog” mini banner pic, same size as award pictures, lol.

  4. You express the dilemma so well. It takes a great amount of time to properly respond rather than sending out spam, and I send out enough spam as it is.

    If Hansi would give me the Jack Shit Award, I promise, I will live up (or down) in a meretricious way!

    John, your blog is one of those that seems to be deserving an award with each and every post. You’re a great inspiration to so many of us.

  5. Ah dear John.. I am glad to find you are, like me, televisionless 🙂 amd my blog is also an awards free zone… I am sorry I have not been able to visit with you so much lately 😦

  6. This is beautifully put John and I admire everything you have written here. I agree, as much as awards offer an ego boost, the whole operation is a bit off-putting sometimes. And you do not need to thank me for this, it is you I should thank, you are an inspirational blogger and your work is both profound and hauntingly beautiful. Thank you for creating and maintaining this art sanctuary where like minds can gather and chat. xx

    Oh, and in my honest opinion labels such as “blogs without awards” & “blogs with awards” should not exist…..with or without an award, a rose by any other name is still a rose. Blog on bloggers, blog on!

    Dx

  7. He blushes…thank you Deena for your generous words. I guess the ‘Award Free Blog’ sign is my way of gently letting people know – so they can direct those energies elsewhere – however I do understand your Gertrude Stein reference (or was it the Bard of Avon?) – whichever, Magritte would beg to differ…

Leave a Reply

