Who Am Him Really Anywhy? 3.

SP with circ_2

Self-Portraits from The Archives #3.

“In the mirror my name is lost in canyons of colour. Thoughts and feelings dissolve in shadows and light. Memories become texture and line. My fingers dance to the drums of the Fathers and the chanting of the Mothers. Night spirits whisper and call and the shaman of the sun sings music that swells inside. Flesh dissolves into rainbows of light. Rich and pulsing darkness purrs upon impossible edges of skin, the illusion of my beginning and ending. I fly in eagles and glide cold depths in the bellies of whales. I am in the tall pine, the voices of the Mothers and the hands of the beater of drums. Proudly I move to the drum. Within this circle of incantation and musty magic I am dancer, warrior and magician and my spirit is straight and true. I look into my eyes and each orb becomes a universe. The stranger in this circumference of glass  guides my hand and I dissolve again into marks moving across paper deserts. I know this language, always becoming, between the stars and the deepest cave of my heart. It speaks of coming home again. It speaks of walking this world proudly and in beauty”.

Drawing and Writing by clinock.  Drawing: Self Portrait in circular mirror with text (the writing is the text around the drawing).  Diameter, with text, 12″. Chalk pastel, conte and black pen.    Click on image for detailed view.

12 thoughts on “Who Am Him Really Anywhy? 3.

  1. Beautiful, both portrait and poem. Those words say what art is all about. This needs no comment 🙂 but I just wanted to say how much this moved me.

  2. Mom was a Leo…I didn’t even know it was your birthday in July! Happy belated birthday! I’m back at home and just now sat and enjoyed your Leo series. Beautiful reflections, images and art, as per usual! It sounds as though you ‘coasties’ have been basking in sunshine and dry weather this summer!

    1. Proud to share your Mom’s sun sign Kathleen and thank you for the greeting and your comments. Yes, and the coastal heatwave continues – I love it, although it means constant watering of the gardens – a meditation for me….

Leave a Reply

