Thanksgiving

canadian_fall_by_clinock

This weekend is ‘Thanksgiving’ in Canada. My son, Sam, wrote a Thanksgiving poem that I am sharing with you below.

I also want to give thanks to all of you for your constant nourishment and support and for your much valued comments, humour and multifaceted points-of-view. Communicating with you and sharing your varied worlds means a lot to me and you have added a rich and meaningful dimension to my life.

I wish you all the joy and magic of family, friends and harvest, and as we break bread with each other not to forget our brothers and sisters who have nothing and no one.

Photo by clinock. (This post is a redux from 2012).

THANKSGIVING DAY by Sam Clinock

A day…

To notice what is directly in front of our eyes.

To focus, to realize,

That we have so much,

That every friend’s loving touch,

Is humbling.

Today…

A yearly reminder,

A magnifying glass, a simple life finder,

Of the basics of living,

And the wonders of giving.

I will now write

In the slowly fading light,

What I am grateful for:

Love

A word that loses meaning.

Unconditional love of family

Who made me who I am.

Love of good ol’ friends

Who cheer me when I’m down.

And true, romantic love

That breaks and unbreaks the heart

Sometimes so very close

Sometimes far apart.

The food and drink that we have

From nourishing Mother Earth

Whose land is hard and beautiful,

Remember what it’s worth.

The people of the world

Who each give something new.

Creative, different and shining

I am thankful for them too.

Let us not accept with ease

All that comes our way.

From where does it come?

For what reason do we pay?

Let us say thanks tonight

And each and every day

For each miracle in the world

And every scene in this play.

thanksgiving-clip-art-5

16 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

      1. Not that I know. We do have Sint Maarten on 11 November, when children go door to door singing and carrying lanterns, to get sweets. It is a very old tradition (middle ages) and it wouldn’t surprise me if trick or treats originates from that. And on the island here we have Sundrum, in December, also very ancient, when men go door to door dressed as Sundrums scaring women drinking, dancing etc. 🙂

      2. Fascinating Ina, thanks for sharing. I have a deep interest in seasonal rituals of other cultures and have found that not all have ‘harvest’ celebrations as here in North America…

    1. Thank you Robert and I’m sure that Sam will see your comment. I love that phrase, “a chip of the old block” – reminds me of my other life in England…

    1. Thank you so much Jacquie, it has been and continues to be a warmly wonderful weekend celebrated with family and friends – the sun still shines and the trees are stunning in their glory…

Leave a Reply

