‘The 100’ #87 – Mezcal Mi Amigo

Tequila Sprite

He is the cover of my book.

His signs are enigmatic,

an ancient coupling

of plant and earth.

He is mystery and music.

He dances me through nights

when muses fail and

desolation sucks my soul.

He is companion, comfort

and consolation

when my love is far away.

He is the desert sun

when light is quenched

by rain drenched days.

He fills me with fire,

when icy winter

clenches bones.

He calls to me

from white beaches,

streets of coloured heat,

and flowering Jacaranda trees.

He is illusion and magic

leaping from reality to dream

and back again.

I know him as trickster,

magician and friend.

Like a woman he caresses me

inside and out.

Like a woman he comes and goes

with the ocean moon.

I hold him inside my blood

as I would hold the one I love,

drinking his fragrance,

inhaling his deep intoxication

on unshared pillows

of a bed too wide.

Painting and poem by clinock.

‘The 100′ series was initiated by my 100th Post in April 2012. As text and images are the essence of my blog my intention is to present 100 pieces of text based art from historical and contemporary artists and from my own hand. To view the series to date click on ‘The 100’ in my Category Menu.

10 thoughts on “‘The 100’ #87 – Mezcal Mi Amigo

  1. Such an incredible image…and a personal experiencing. It’s like a stamp on an envelope from an invisible realm and your poem is the letter inside. Could be medieval, could be Mexican, could be hundreds of years old. As if he’s not vivid enough he also calls to you from white beaches! Very hallucinogenic and mystical!

Leave a Reply

