Invitation to Play 2.1

invitation to play

The first two layers of the four colour requests submitted. Photo #1 is Sam’s turquoise applied with a sponge:

DSC07794As often happens after I apply the foundation layer of any painting I wanted to keep it and say, well that’s it then…perfect…nothing else needed. I liked this layer a lot and had to let go of that precious possessiveness in order to proceed, take the risk. This layer applied with very wet sponge, apply and let dry, 5 or 6 applications. I love the way the washes found their own formations of light and dark tones.

Photo #2 is Gary’s layer, teal with burnt and raw sienna.

DSC07798Gary requested ‘random swirls with fingers and brush’. I applied the teal first with a fat wet brush swirling with loose and dancing arm movements. When dry I placed small heaps of burnt and raw sienna onto canvas and using my fingers spread them out in random circles adding water to thin and increase coverage. I also scratched swirls into the paint with my fingernails.

Tonight I will be adding Ina’s red and my only concern about this is that the resulting red and green combination will look too Christmasy. After Ina’s red I will apply Robert’s yellow and then post the results. Two things I’m enjoying in this challenge so far are using colours I wouldn’t have thought to use together and the surrendering to others of a certain amount of decision making.

The painting is in early stages yet but I am interested in your comments as I will be all the way to the end.

For the concept behind this challenge please see ‘Invitation to Play 1’.

The ‘Invitation to Play‘ painting is a found image photographed in a local park in East Vancouver. I don’t know the artist but will credit you if you contact me. I thank you for inspiring the title for this post.

18 thoughts on “Invitation to Play 2.1

    1. I’m enjoying it too Steven, a lot… enchanted by the juxtaposition of incorporating ideas from others with my creative process…it’s very freeing and takes me into explorations of areas I might never have gone…breaks me out of boxes I didn’t even know I was in. Thank you for following along…

  1. Wonderful to see the creative process in real time development John. Agreed with your comment that it is often hard to keep going when you suddenly achieved an outstanding image like your foundation painting. But so much more is achieved by moving on especially when you are challenged as you are. It is only then that a master is revealed!!!!!

    1. I am very far from being a ‘master’ Robert…an inspired beginner perhaps. I agree that “moving on’ is the way to go but sometimes it’s intimidating, especially when going public. I know you understand the whole creative process and I appreciate your support very much. Don’t misunderstand me, I’m enjoying this self imposed challenge…growing through it in many ways…

      1. Thank you for sharing your paintings John…ı really love all of them very very nice love to watch them…very nice colors and a lot positive energy…ı can see your lovely spirit on your works, have a wonderful weekend John 🙂

Leave a Reply

