The Lion Cometh – 1 – (Redux)

LEOLeo is my sun sign – on Wednesday the sun entered the astrological sign of The Lion, always a potent and pivotal force for change, strength and confirmation in my life.

I am re-posting my ‘Celebration of Leo’ series from last year with some edits here and there. This constitutes a blogging summer break of sorts for me as I give my days renovating my patio and condo and preparing my art for a few local community exhibitions. Summertime, for me, is not the “lazy, hazy days” of the song but a time when I feel at the peak of my focussed energy and accomplish more than at any other time of year. In this month of my day of birth I conjure the strength and power of the lion and the subtle wisdom of the domestic cat. Under the mid-year sun and it’s heat I am more myself than I am in all other seasons.

Leo StarMy Leo Star, drawn from the astrological colours given to this sign.

Even though the nature of the lion is a powerful part of who I am, his domestic kin, the pussycat, is a more present and comfortable spirit that shares my days. I waver frequently between both energies.

Brit lionMr B

This and the next few posts will be in honour of the Lion, in words, images and music…

 

Leo wall art by unknown artist, Italy. / Leo Star by clinock / British Lion painting by L D Luard. / Cat photo of Mr. Bunbury who died last year, still cherished and missed. / You Tube video by great Canadian singer, Bruce Cockburn.

7 thoughts on “The Lion Cometh – 1 – (Redux)

  1. Great photo of Mr. Bunbury, what a great lion he is. Haven’t heard this B. Cockburn song in some time, great to hear it again. I recall reading ‘In the Place of the Lion’ by Charles Williams. Very English. You might know it. I think I’ll borrow Ina’s word (it’s great) and say Congratualations!

    1. I haven’t read ‘In the Place of the Lion’ that I remember so will be looking for it at my local library…and ‘congratulalalalations’ however it’s spelt is still accepted with heart…thank you muchly Steven…

Leave a Reply

