Farewell Douglas Coupland and Slogans 9,10 and 11

last blocksThis ‘monument’ of children’s lettered blocks were a component of a full room symbolic  representation of Coupland’s brain brilliantly conceived and executed by the artist using found objects. This is my final example of text-based art from this summer exhibition. The show closed on September 1 and I close this series today. It has been fun sharing Coupland’s art with you and I thank you for your comments and ideas.

Here is a view of downtown Vancouver as one leaves the VAG. (Click to enlarge).

downtownand here are Slogans 9, 10 & 11 chosen from so many more I haven’t shown:

Slogan 9Slogan 10

Slogan 11Please see my first post in this series for full explanation of all posts and of photo below: ‘Gumhead’. Also see my first ‘Slogans’ post to understand #9, 10 & 11.

Credits: thank you to Douglas Coupland and the Vancouver Art Gallery for images and wall descriptions used in this series.

Gumhead 2

All photos by clinock.

 

14 thoughts on “Farewell Douglas Coupland and Slogans 9,10 and 11

  1. He used glue for those blocks I think 🙂 I wonder if he used the block at random or if the letters were put there to make us read something (muzaz) and there are “russian” (cyrillic) blocks as well! Lovely series, John! x

    1. Glued? very possible, would certainly make moving on to next exhibition easier. “Muzaz”? Oh, right, I just found it…I thought the same at first but after getting cross eyed searching I decided that the placement was random…perhaps this was his subtle strategy, to have us look closer. Thank you Ina…x

  2. This has been a great series John. I do feel that my brain has been well and truly colonised, but the last couple of slogans here help me to feel a little easier about it. Thanks and regards Mark.

  3. 他低聲說了喜歡再見 (Chinese)
    fluisterde hij een dol adieu (Dutch)
    El murmurou un adeus afeiçoado (Galician)
    彼が好き別れをささやい (Japanese)
    translation…….”he whispered a fond adieu”

  4. Many thanks for this thought provoking series, John. Fun, maddening…but also exciting to see how we’re shifting into this virtual paradigm. To be here now … I’ve always liked the thought of being an emergent seed and experiencing the energies of birthing.
    jana

    1. I agree with your perception Jana and have appreciated your insights throughout. As for you “being an emergent seed and experiencing the energies of birthing” – I think you do that every day in your writings and art, n’est-ce pas?

Leave a Reply

