food for thought / francis bacon

“In my case all painting… is an accident. I foresee it and yet I hardly ever carry it out as I foresee it. It transforms itself by the actual paint. I don’t in fact know very often what the paint will do, and it does many things which are very much better than I could make it do”. (Francis Bacon. 1909 – 1992) Francis_Bacon_(artist)

Study_after_Velazquez's_Portrait_of_Pope_Innocent_XStudy_for_the_Head_of_George_Dyer

Three_Studies_for_the_Portrait_of_Henrietta_Moraes

Photo portrait of Francis Bacon. Photographed in late 1980s. credit Wikipedia.com.

Study after Velazquez’s Portrait of Pope Innocent X. Francis Bacon. 1953. Oil on canvas. 60×46″ (152×117 cm).

Study for the head of George Dyer. Francis Bacon. 1967. Oil on canvas. 14×12″ (35.5×30.5 cm).

Three Studies for the Portrait of Henrietta Moraes. Francis Bacon. 1963. Oil on canvas. Triptych.

9 thoughts on “food for thought / francis bacon

    1. I think you’re right about that Robert, I read this quote from Bacon tonight and thought to start a set about the creative process…how do we find a way to talk about it, or does is matter?

  1. John, your posting came in handy just now, as I am having a discussion in my poetry course (online ) with my professor about mesostic poetry and chance poems etc. I still think a poem is different from painting as accidental use of words can’t work in poetry (I think) . I want a poem to be from mind to mind, a communication, but during the discussion I realized some poems come as a flow and maybe, and just maybe I am starting to understand the prof thanks to this quote. So thank you!

    1. glad I was able
      to briNg home the bacon
      so u Ace your courses
      Yikes, mesostic and philosophic haiku…it’s all too much.
      check out the Dada poets for ‘chance’ poetry…
      there are many parallels between painting and poetry I think

  2. One of my very very favorite painters and I agree with him. Of course in Bacon’s case, his paintings are happy accidents! I would add that we -as beings- are accidents to begin with. Thank you for this brilliant reminder. 🙂

    1. Happy I chose one of your faves to open this series Marina. I often stumble when people ask me about the, or my, creative process. So, I read the words of artists I admire, about their own particular ways, philosophies and processes of working. I will be sharing these and hope it inspires me and others who visit to consider how they might put words to their own ways of working and share those words through here or on their own blog.
      “we -as beings- are accidents to begin with.” I’m curious about this interesting idea…tell more please, but only if you want 😉

      1. By accidents, I mean that we control absolutely nothing about us. From the moment we are born, to our last breath. Maybe if we ever learned to use the 100% of our brain, then maybe…
        It is of course the very humble opinion of a pessimistic optimist! 😉

Leave a Reply

