food for thought / Richard Diebenkorn

“… putting down what I felt in terms of some overall image at the moment today, and perhaps being terribly disappointed with it tomorrow… trying to make it better and then despairing and destroying partially or wholly… getting back into it and just kind of frantically trying to pull something into this rectangle that made sense to me…”

(Richard Diebenkorn. 1922-1993. American)

Richard_Diebenkorn

Cityscape_I_360

 

Richard_Diebenkorn's_painting_'Ocean_Park_No.129'

 

Richard_Diebenkorn's_painting_'Ocean_Park_No._67'

 

Credits: All images thanks to Wikipedia.

Photo of Diebenkorn, 1986.

Cityscape 1. 1963. oil on canvas. 60×50″.

Ocean Park No.129. oil on canvas. 1984.

Ocean Park No.67. oil on canvas. 1973. 100×80″.

11 thoughts on “food for thought / Richard Diebenkorn

    1. Mine too Robert, he inspires me to aim for his sublime simplicity although it seems that however much an artist inspires and influences me whatever wants out of me will out of me, even if so much an antithesis to the sublime i see in my kaleidoscope…and I’m okay with that…gotta get it out there…

    1. and best also,
      because, we know,
      i think, how beautiful we are
      in our struggles and
      in our emerging.
      I know you hear
      and understand his words
      and mine
      and
      yours…

Leave a Reply

