MASHUP – Jacques Villegle @the VAG

portrait-villegle

Extract from VAG’s write up on Jacques Villegle:

DSC00228DSC00176DSC00177DSC00230 DSC00178

“The idea was really to take what was out there in the street and basically just select a section of it and frame it. All the work was really done by someone else, time passing, or the weather.”

DSC00229

DSC00184

“In the 1930s, the poster was called the “journal (newspaper) of the street,” something that really reflected society. And what I think I realized at the time was that the posters, as an art form, were always going to evolve and so there would always be something new to explore. In the 1950s for example, photography was not used in posters, it was still drawings.”

DSC00183

DSC00182

A keen observer of urban art and society, each of his works bears the name of the street where the poster was collected. For Villeglé the posters are as much witnesses as they are actors in their environment, and while he makes the choice of framing the final image, he is completely absent from the actual execution of the works, which have been created by an anonymous collective, which is why he describes his ripped posters as “lacères anonymes.”

Rues Saint Georges Saint Lazare

Credits: All images, except the first and last, and all descriptors were photographed at the Vancouver Art Gallery (VAG) by clinock. Thanks to the VAG.

The first and last images thanks to Google Images.

Villegle quotes in italics and final write-up on the artist thanks to http://www.blouinartinfo.com

8 thoughts on “MASHUP – Jacques Villegle @the VAG

  1. Another excellent post John……the VAG does get some good ones too! Jacques Villegle is obviously a facinating artist who has pushed the boundaries of what creating art is all about.
    Big thanks!

  2. This is really interesting John, thanks for the introduction. Christine and I are both intrigued and a little obsessed with old billboards we never pass up the chance to photograph them. Regards Mark.

    1. I like his process / approach that what he chooses to detach from the surface has actually been created by others, and the weather…he just decides how to frame it!

  3. I find the art of collage interesting. I love to dissect the pieces with my own examination, but I always wish I had the artist nearby to provide insight into the process. I really enjoyed what you’ve shared here, John, and I am glad to learn of the artist, Jacques Villegle.

    1. Debra, I don’t know how I missed answering your comment until now, but obviously I did, and I’m sorry…par for the course too often nowadays :). I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. This artist was new to me too and I’m happy to share my discovery. I haven’t visited you for ages, must remedy that soon…

Leave a Reply

